I never cease to be amazed at what Normal Hearing (NH) people can hear. NH people can put a pot of water on the stove and know precisely when it starts to boil – WITHOUT looking at it. What an amazing feat! They can determine if a light bulb is good – just by SHAKING it. Astounding! And get this…they can hear turning signals. Really – it’s true.

I know these things because of my son, Super Hearing Boy, who can hear a flea land on a dog. He demonstrated his exceptional skill at my mother’s home a couple of weeks ago. We were relaxing in the living room, enjoying the Sci-Fi channel. He was sitting in the recliner, and I was on the couch, when out of the blue, he yells, “Mom!”

Alarmed, I turn to Super Hearing Boy and say, “What’s wrong?”

“Please stop!”

“Stop what?”

“That!”

“What in the world are you talking about? I’m not doing anything!”

“Stop scratching!”

Lest you think I’m a dry, scaly alligator woman, I was scratching a mosquito bite.